Lobstah!! When I think of Maine, I dream of Lobster.

31 May

Here’s a pic to make you keep reading:

Yes. This is real life.

Welcome to Portland, Maine!

I got sent up to Portland for my first shoot with Channel One: a feature on a local high school’s innovative seed saving program. And when I heard Maine… I heard Lobstah!!

And I’m not alone in my foodie expectations. Portland was named America’s foodiest small town – so obvs I had high hopes.

Here is my trip to Portland, Maine – in eating (and working) chronological order:

* The trip started out strong – Within our first two hours in Maine, my producer and I were knuckle deep in lobster. Based on my research for the shoot (read: my comprehensive analysis of Portland’s food blogs) we choose Street and Company for their epic seafood spread. And Maine’s best finger food did not disappoint – we were sucking those lobster legs clean!

* Perfect way to cure a Lobster Belly? A night time stroll on Portland’s cobblestone streets!

* How does one top off a seafood overload induced sleep? A morning Cappuccino – Obvs. I knew I had to get some caffeine pumping in me before my first shoot, and let’s be real – I’m always down for a Cappi Hunt. So up and off to Bard Coffee I went for a soy cappi, oatmeal, and a cold pressed iced coffee to go!

*With my cold pressed coffee in hand – we hit the road!

* After a 2 hour ride sight seeing Maine’s waterways, we arrived at our road trip destination: A local high school’s horticulture class (and yes, this made me think of Harry Potter.) One step into their greenhouse and I knew this shoot was right up my alley – look at all the pretty plants and flowers! Hello plant biodiversity!!

* Here’s what I learned on my first shoot: This is what lettuce seeds look like! Boom – some plant knowledge for ya face.

* The shoot is wrapped… so obviously it’s time for our next meal! With no plans except a map through Maine and 5 hours until our flight… we began our meandering. Lucky for us, Lobster Fate was on our side. We pulled up alongside a little roadside shack on the water selling Lobster Rolls… little did we know, these weren’t no regular folk Lobster Rolls – these were Red’s Eats‘ world famous Maine Lobsah Rolls!

* And then we took said world famous Maine Lobstah Rolls and ate them water side… Can I get a collective Lobstah Belly happy sigh?? Oh yeah, there it is.

* And now… A Girl and Her Lobstah: A photo collective.

* Apparently this is the face I make when I think I drop a piece of Lobster. And no, I am not overreacting.

* And after a long day of eating (and working…), I just needed to buy these lobster slippers for my feet. I mean, it was a necessity.

* Spark notes: this sign for a local Portland bar perfectly sums up my relationship with Portland, Maine.

Big props to Portland, Maine for showing my tum a grand time!

- – – – – – – – – – – – -

Let’s Take It To The Blogs -

- IndieTravelPodcast‘s list of the top five things to do in Portland starts with Eating and Drinking… so you know it’s legit.

- FromAway eats their way through all of Maine – Portland included!

- The New York Times calls Portland – “one of the best places to eat in the Northeast”

- Food and Wine and Epicurious both offer up their fav Portland Eateries.

- TheAwl delivers great summertime activities in Portland… Lobstah included!

- – – – – – – – – – – – -

What’s your best Lobster Belly experience??

10 Responses to “Lobstah!! When I think of Maine, I dream of Lobster.”

  1. Chris @ Shared Appetite May 31, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    That top picture is stunning! Congrats on the new job… looks like you will have many culinary adventures ahead! You’ve been to Luke’s Lobster in the East Village, right? I was just there the other night for a lobster roll. Delicious!

    • MaggieRulli June 4, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      Thanks so much!! I’m super excited for some food adventures… and you better believe I’ll be taking pics :) I’m just trying to keep up with you two!!

  2. Tony May 31, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    I want those lobster sandal/slippers for xmas… PLEASE? What an awesome trip with oh so much Lobster love!

    The only lobster faux pas i could see was the lack of a lobster bib in any of the photos… come on!

    • MaggieRulli June 4, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

      so true… you know I’m a little disappointed in myself for my lack of lobstah bib fashion…. and yes – there will be a pair of lobster slippers in your stocking next year.

  3. NaEun Park May 31, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    That looks amazing! I’ve been craving seafood – especially lobster lately. I need to take a trip to Maine!

    • MaggieRulli June 4, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

      Maine will certainly satisfy that seafood craving!! :)

  4. dbkayak June 3, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    Nice! We love maine so much. I have always wanted to eat at Red’s but for some reason I have yet to do so. Funny enough, we passed red’s this weekend en route to photograph a wedding and it reminded me of this blog post. Looks like you had a great time! (Bethany of Bethany and Dan Photography)

    • MaggieRulli June 4, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

      Ah I can’t believe you drove past Reds – Wasn’t that road incredible!! Such beautiful landscape. I’m sure you got some stellar photos :) Next time you’ll just have to budget time for lobster!!

      • dbkayak June 22, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

        For sure!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Road Trip Style | the most happy - June 29, 2014

    […] Lobstah!! When I think of Maine, I dream of Lobster. (maggietalksloud.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

