That Time I Was Regina George.

19 Nov

Sure High School was great and I totally was that girl who was way over involved in a whole bunch of activities… but let’s not kid ourselves here – I was never that person who got cheered on at Pep rallies.

Pep rallies were reserved for football players and maybe the basketball team – but most definitely not for cross-country runners and school treasurers who thought applying mascara was a Friday thing only.

So when I was given the opportunity to become the star of a High School Pep rally last week – you better believe I was in my element.

Sure, it wasn’t my high school and maybe at 25 I’m a few years past my high school days… but these “facts” soon became irrelevant when I ran through a banner and heard an auditorium of teens and their mascot screaming… for me!!!

(okay… so they were actually screaming because my producer had given them the ‘time to cheer’ cue. But again with these “factual details”)

The pep rally all part of our One Vote election special for Channel One. And the school went all out for us – cheerleaders cheering a Channel One chant, the marching band drumming away, and even the mascot doing a dougie. Yup – it was everything a Pep Rally should be and I got the chance to help host it.

Host it… slash relive high school as the most popular girl on campus… it’s really a toss-up.

Did I mention that a cheerleader came up to me and said, and yes I do quote: “We just wanted to tell you that we love your outfit”. I would like to say I reacted with a hair flip and a whatever nod… but let’s be real – I got all giddy, did a little jump and said love yours too. I just wasn’t meant to be Regina George.

 

- – – – – – – – – – – – – – -

For some more reading to put ya right back in High School… Let’s take it to the blogs!

- Remember how applying to college and figuring out what to do after high school was the single most important thing in the world? These teen bloggers over at The New York Times The Choice Blog will remind you.

- To take a look at high school from your teachers perspective, check out these top teacher blogs.

- And for some laughs about being a teen written by teens, check out High School Humor Blog.

- – – – – – – – – – – – – – -

If you could go back and relieve a day of high school at your current age… think you’d be any different??

2 Responses to “That Time I Was Regina George.”

  1. Tony November 19, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    HILARIOUS anecdote about the cheerleader…

  2. Jr December 3, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Magz, loved this post. I too always wanted to run through a banner. Never did and I am so happy you got to enjoy that thrill. I ca see you getting the nod on your outfit and your response. Love IT.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

